Commonwealth Games Council for Wales elects new Board

The Commonwealth Games Council for Wales (CGCW) has announced its newly elected Board members that would lead Wales until Gold Coast 2018.

The election comes shortly after the 2014 Commonwealth Games in Glasgow, which saw a record-breaking Team Wales bring home 36 medals- the highest count for the Welsh team in a Commonwealth Games to date.

The Board will see three new appointments, with the re-appointment of Helen Phillips as Chair and Anne Ellis as President.

CGCW Chair, Helen Phillips said:

“I am delighted with the outstanding quality and competence of our new Directors. It’s a very busy and exciting period ahead with Youth Commonwealth Games 2015 and 2017 and of course Gold Coast 2018. It is our role to work with NGB’s to select athletes, appoint a World Class support team and deliver Team Wales to Australia into an outstanding performance environment that allows our athletes to excel.  We need to increase our commercial activities and our new board absolutely delivers these skills. We have a challenging 3 ½ years ahead of us but we are committed to making sure the fire of the Welsh Dragon will glow brightly in Gold Coast.”

Helen Phillips – Chair

Helen has served the board as a Non-Executive Director for two games cycles, initially as Director and then as Vice-Chair and was appointed to lead Team Wales in Glasgow as Chair in September 2013, leading the organisation for Wales’s most successful Commonwealth Games in history. Helen took the reigns as Chair for Welsh Gymnastics in 2001 and retired from British Gymnastics Board following the very Successful London 2012 Olympics, an impressive 15 years involvement in sport. Helen, a Businesswoman born in Merthyr Tydfil has been instrumental in managing change establishing key relationships and working closely with CEO to drive excellence and ambition in the work of Commonwealth Games Wales.

Anne Ellis: President

Anne served as President to the record breaking Team Wales in Glasgow 2014. She has been awarded an MBE for her services to Welsh and British Hockey and in 2005 was awarded an OBE for her serviced to Sport in Wales. Having previously served as Chef de Mission for Team Wales in Melbourne 2006, the variety of posts she has held including, President of Hockey Wales, Chair of Welsh Sports Association and Vice Chair of Sport Wales, demonstrates her experience, passion and commitment to CGCW. Pictured above with CEO Chris Jenkins

Jon Morgan – Vice Chair

Jon, CEO of Disability Sport Wales, has gained a wealth of experience and knowledge as a Non-Executive Director and Trustee on the Board of the British Paralympic Association during the 2004-2008 Beijing Paralympic Games and 2008-2012 London Paralympic Games cycle. Jon has been associated with the Commonwealth Games and Team Wales since 2005. He played an active role in preparing Team Wales for Melbourne 2006 Commonwealth Games, serving as General Team Manager at both Melbourne and Delhi 2010.

Wendy Barbour – Finance Director

Wendy has worked at SSE plc since 1989 and in the last five years has taken the role of Energy Trading Finance Manager, managing accounts across the SSE Retails Business. Her role also included being Director of Commonwealth Games and Sponsorship which saw her deliver key sponsorship partnerships from organisation through to post-event.

Craig Maxwell – Commercial & Marketing Director 08.09.14 – WRU Exec Board Headshots – Craig Maxwell © Huw Evans Picture Agency

Craig has been the Head of Group Sales and Marketing for the Welsh Rugby Union since 2010. His background in sports, participation and administration, coupled with his experience as a Sponsorship Manager, Marketing Manager and European Rugby Cup (ERC) Commercial Committee member means he has great experience in managing major commercial programmes and events.

Dr Nicola Phillips – Independent DirectorSport Wales Staff 25.09.13 ©Steve Pope-Sportingwales

Nicola has gained operational expertise from her multi-sports experience, with Glasgow 2014 being her eighth Commonwealth Games. She has worked both as a team member and in leadership roles, culminating in her Deputy Chef de Mission position in Glasgow 2014. Nicola a Reader at Cardiff University, core expertise lies in Physiotherapy, where she provides strategic input into developing support to High Performance athletes throughout Wales.

Hannah Raybould – Independent Director

Hannah Raybould is elected as an Independent Director. Currently the Director of BAFTA in Wales, she has over 16 years project and commercial management experience. A Welsh speaker, Hannah has a background in Training and Development, leading on programmes to develop young people in Wales.

Chris Jenkins- CEO of Commonwealth Games Wales- said:

‘I am looking forward working with Helen and the new Board during this very exciting run  in to Gold Coast in 2018, building on Welsh success in Glasgow.’

Full list of CGCW board:
Helen Phillips – Chair  | Email – 
Jon Morgan – Vice Chair
Wendy Barbour – Finance Director
Craig Maxwell – Commercial & Marketing Director
Dr Nicola Phillips – Independent Director
Hannah Raybould – Independent Director

Observers & Advisors
Anne Ellis – President
Chris Jenkins – CEO | Email – 
Jon Davies – Sport Wales
Legal advisor
Athlete representative