There are two types of gymnastic disciplines in the Commonwealth Games; Artistic and Rhythmic. Artistic gymnastics is a core sport at the Games, first introduced in 1978. Men and women compete in the Artistic discipline whilst only women compete in rhythmic gymnastics (which was first introduced in 1990).

Become fascinated with Rhythmic gymnastics as they perform flawless, smooth and elegant routines. With individual, all-around and team events, Rhythmic gymnastics will be shown across four apparatus; ball, hoop, ribbon and clubs. At her third and last Games at Glasgow, Francesca Jones won a record of six medals, including gold in the ribbon event. In 2018, Laura Halford secured Wales’ only Rhythmic medal with a fantastic silver in the hoop.

The artistic discipline sees athletes leaping and flying amongst a range of apparatus such as the vault, uneven bars, pommel horse and the balance beam. Wales have won a total of five artistic medals since 1994, with Sonia Lawrence earning Wales’ first medal in the event with a silver in the vault in Victoria, Canada.

National Governing Body



Table of Achievements for Artistic Gymnastics
1994 1 silver
2006 1 silver
2014 2 bronze
2018 1 silver


Table of Achievements for Rhythmic Gymnastics
2010 1 silver
2014 1 gold, 5 silver, 2 bronze
2018 1 silver