Commonwealth Youth Games

The Commonwealth Youth Games is for athletes aged 14-18 from all 71 nations that participate in the Commonwealth Games. These Games take place every 4 years between the main Games.

Team Wales travelled to the Bahamas for the 2017 Youth Games where 38 young Welsh athletes competed in six sports, including a squad of 12 women selected for the women's rugby sevens tournament. The Team  delivered outstanding performances and achieved 2 gold, 6 silver and 5 bronze medals, smashing Welsh and British junior records. The Welsh  women's rugby sevens  squad won the first medal ever for Team Wales in a team event at a Commonwealth Games or Youth Games.



commonwealth youth games medals

The sixth Commonwealth Youth Games took place in the Bahamas in 2017. Team Wales brought home 13 medals from this Games – 2 gold, 6 silver and 5 bronze. The 2017 Games saw Team Wales win their first ever Commonwealth medal in rugby and it also saw Sammy Lee win a gold in boxing. He went on to win another gold at the Commonwealth Games 9 months later! Wales finished 10/35 on the medal table.


2017 Athletes:

Bethany Moule, James Tomlinson, Lauren Evans, Naomi Reid, Sarah Omoregie

Jacob Lovell, James Probert, Jay Munn, John Wilson, Rhys Edwards, Sammy Lee

Callum Bennett, Ffion Robinson, Sam Ashton

Connor Bryan, Elena Morgan, Hannah Sloan, Iestyn Cole, Ioan Evans, Joseph Small, Lewis Fraser, Medi Harris, Megan Allison, Rebecca Sutton

James Story, Morgan Cross



The fifth Commonwealth Youth Games took place in Samoa in 2015. Team Wales won a total of 9 medals at this Youth Games placing them 15th on the medal table. Wales’ medals were won in tennis, weightlifting and swimming.



The fourth Commonwealth Youth Games took place in the Isle of Man in 2011. These Games resulted in Team Wales best performance at a Youth Games until then, coming home with a total of 26 medals! 5 gold medals, 11 silver and 10 bronze medals were won in gymnastics, swimming, athletics, cycling and boxing, putting Wales 5th on the medal table.



The third Commonwealth Youth Games took place in Pune, India in 2008. Team Wales won a total of 16 medals at these Games – 5 gold, 5 silver and 6 bronze. These medal wins placed Wales 6th on the medal table.



The second Commonwealth Youth Games was held in Bendigo, Australia. Team Wales brought home 3 medals, with 2 silver medals in gymnastics and 1 bronze medal in cycling. These medal wins placed Wales 12th on the medal table.



The first Commonwealth Youth Games was held in Edinburgh, Scotland in 2000. Scotland was the first country to hold the Commonwealth Games twice and now the first to host a Youth Games. Team Wales won a total of 8 medals; 1 gold, 6 silver and 1 bronze all in athletics. Placing the 9th on the medal table.