Commonwealth Games Wales


The core sports of athletics, aquatics, badminton, boxing, hockey, lawn bowls, netball, squash, rugby sevens, and weightlifting will be complemented by another seven sports chosen from the Commonwealth Games Federation optional sports list. This will include basketball, shooting, table tennis, cycling, gymnastics, wrestling and triathlon. An announcement will be released at a later date as to which para-sports will be competing. 

Core sports:

  • Athletics 
  • Swimming 
  • Badminton 
  • Boxing 
  • Hockey 
  • Lawn Bowls 
  • Netball 
  • Squash 
  • Rugby Sevens 
  • Weightlifting 

Optional sports:

  • Basketball
  • Shooting 
  • Table Tennis 
  • Cycling
  • Gymnastics 
  • Wrestling 
  • Triathlon